" "

Ogugua elected President of Nigerian Community in Senegal

0 369

Michael Ogugua, a Dakar-based business tycoon, has been elected as the president of the Nigerian Community in Senegal. . The inauguration of the newly elected executive members after took place on August 13, 2022 at the Old Nigerian Embassy in Dakar.

While responding to the pressmen after being sworn in, the newly elected President of the Community, Michael Ogugua, promised to prioritize promoting good image of Nigeria and Nigerians, and empowering Nigerian citizens living in Senegal.

“It’s time for us to work hard and make the country (senegal) to have a good impression about Nigeria. And to Nigerians living in Senegal, please make sure you work hard and create things that’ll show the Senegalese that we’re a great community of diverse people in Senegal.

In an exclusive interview with Parkchester Times correspondent, the Ambassador of Nigeria to Senegal, Adamu Ibrahim Lamuwa, disclosed that the inaugural event is historic and very important because it coincides with the 60th anniversary of the diplomatic relations between the two countries.

“This years marks 60th anniversary of the establishment of the diplomatic relations between Nigeria and Senegal.” said Ambassador Lamuwa. “The Nigerian Community is as old as the embassy; in fact, we have had many Nigerians coming here before our independence. So organizing the Nigerian Community in Senegal, for me, is the responsibility of the embassy, as it’s a way to ensure Nigerians live happily here.”

“I hope the (Nigerian) Community will take advantage of this development in terms businesses, travels, family issues, as the embassy is here to assist,” he added.

“As for Nigerians in Senegal, please continue to be law abiding, get involved in legitimate businesses, live peacefully with your neighbors and contribute to the development of Senegal,” Ambassador Lamuwa concluded.

Other sworn in executive members are Alhaji Mohammed Abdulahi Diallo (Vice President), Abolarin Olaposi David (Secretary General), Emeh Kingsley Ogbonnaya (Chief Provost), Jimoh Saheed Musa (Assistant Secretary), Maidoki Abdullahi Abubakar (Financial Secretary), Emmanuel Chidozie Okatta (Welfare Officer), Nurudeen Opeyemi Olabiyo (Assistant Provost), Kingsley Ekpenyong Mathias Owen (Treasurer), Philip Osamudiamen Akpore (Public Relations Officer), and Rhoda Victory Mokobia (Assistant Welfare).

Among the dignitaries who witnessed this event were Mauritanian Ambassador, Cameroonian Ambassador S.E.M Jean Ntonga, South African Ambassador Bongiwe Qwabe, Zimbabweans Ambassador James Maridadi, Senegalese politicians, and many others.



About Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *